Year 11

Message from the Head of Year

Year 11 is the most important year in your child’s education so far and I wish every student in year 11 lots of luck for the forthcoming year.  There is no doubt that this will be a very stressful year but with the support of the academic mentors, tutors, Mrs Nichols and myself we hope to see every student rise to the challenges presented to them and strive to fulfil their full potential.

Miss Cannon

The KS4 Curriculum overview

Year 11 Mock Exam Timetable – click here to view.

Click here to view the presentation made to parents and students on 27th September 2016. This presentation details the changes to GCSE qualifications and school performance measures.

Revision Skills Day Materials – these are the resources supplied to pupils on Wednesday 11th October.
Cue Cards – click here
Growth Mindset – click here
Learning Memory – click here
Planning a Revision Schedule – click here
Revision Day Ideas – click here

Applications to 6th Form/College

All students should aim to have applications completed by February half term. Students are encouraged to attend a variety of different open evenings in order to help them make an informed choice. Lydiard Park Academy has it’s 6th Form Open Evening on Thursday 9th November from 6 pm to 8 pm.

Attendance Changes – Penalty Notices

Year 11 is a vital year for all students and it has been shown that school attendance during this year has a major impact on what is achieved in examinations, qualifications and life after school. Therefore we need to do everything possible to reduce unnecessary absence and promote good attendance.

The Government introduced Fixed Penalty Notices for Local Authorities to deal with cases when students miss school for reasons which cannot be approved by the school.  The issuing of a Fixed Penalty Notice gives each parent the opportunity of paying a fine instead of going to court.  These fines are £60 per parent (if paid within 21 days), increasing to £120 per parent (to be paid within the following 7 days). If no payment is paid the Local Authority will prosecute the parents for their child’s unauthorised absence.

We wish to inform you that Swindon Borough Council will be issuing Fixed Penalty Notices during this year in cases of poor attendance, including taking students on holiday in term time. Once an unauthorised holiday has been taken, please be advised that the parent will have committed a criminal offence under section 444(1) of the Education Act 1996.

It is important that students attend school regularly and, if they are unable to do so, that the school is fully aware of the circumstances.

Please remember that schools are limited in the type of absences that they can accept as authorised and are required to inform the Local Authority of all unauthorised absence.

The Year 11 Prom

As you may be aware, each year we hold a prom for our year 11 leavers. The prom is a reward for the students in year 11 who have worked hard throughout the year to achieve the best grades possible. This year the prom will be held on Friday 6th July 2017.

The Prom is a reward for all the students’ hard work throughout the year.  The criteria for students to gain an invitation to the Prom are:

  • 93% attendance (students with medical conditions are to ensure that they have medical documentation in school and medical notes for all absences);
  • No more than 5 C3s for Time out or Walking away (combined);
  • No more than 10 C3s for being late;
  • No more than 10 C3s for missed homework;
  • No more than 5 other C3s;
  • No exclusions during Year 11 and no more than one C4.

Tutor Information

Miss C Hunter 11 B1 Berners Lee
Mrs H Tyrrell (Mon + Tue) / Mrs C Hoing 11 B2 Berners Lee
Mrs A Mills / Ms S Perkins (Fri) 11 H1 Holmes
Mr M Smith 11 H2 Holmes
Ms C Urquhart 11 P1 Pascal
Mrs G Bryce 11 P2 Pascal
Mr S Small 11 M1 Moore
Mrs L Walter 11 M2 Moore

Key Dates for Year 11

TERM 1

Wednesday 13th September – Photographs

Tuesday 12th September – School finishes at 2 pm for Open Evening

Week commencing Monday 18th September – Yr 11 Data Input 1

Friday 29th September – Drive Safe Event

Wednesday 11th October – Revision Skills Day

Wednesday 11th October – Key to Success Evening

Friday 21st October – School ends for half term at 3 pm

TERM 2

Monday 30th October – Return to school

Week commencing Monday 30th October – Yr 11 Data Input 2 & Tracking

Thursday 9th November – 6th Form Open Evening

Thursday 16th November – Consultation Day

Week commencing Monday 27th November – Mock Exam Week

Week commencing Monday 4th December – Yr 11 Data Input 3

Wednesday 13th December – Mock Results Morning

Wednesday 13th December – Subject Consultation Evening

Friday 15th December – School ends for Christmas at 12.30 pm

TERM 3

Tuesday 2nd January – Return to school

Week commencing Monday 8th January – 6th Form Interviews

Week commencing Monday 5th February – Yr 11 Data Input 4

Friday 9th February – School ends for half term at 3 pm

TERM 4

Monday 19th February – Return to school

* Thursday 22nd February – Science Mock Exam 9 am – 10.30 am

* Thursday 22nd February – Maths Mock Exam, Non-Calculator 1 pm – 2.30 pm

* Friday 23rd February – Maths Mock Exam, Calculator 9 am – 10.30 am

* Friday 23rd February – English Mock Exam 1 pm – 3 pm

Week commencing Monday 6th March – Yr 11 Data Input 5 & Tracking

* Wednesday 14th March – English Mock Exam (time TBC)

Thursday 22nd March – Consultation Day & Yr 11 reports out

Thursday 29th March – School ends for Easter at 3 pm

TERM 5

Monday 16th April – Return to school

* Thursday 26th April – Maths Mock Exam, Calculator (time TBC)

Monday 1st May – Bank Holiday

Week commencing Monday 14th May – Yr 11 Data Input 6

Friday 25th May – School ends for half term at 3pm

TERM 6

Friday 6th July – Year 11 Prom @ De Vere Cotswold Water Park