Year 7

Welcome to Year 7, from Mrs Connor and myself. We wish you lots of luck for the forthcoming year.

Mrs Snook
Head of Year 7

Key Dates for Year 7

Friday 2nd September – School starts at 10:10 am
Friday 9th September – School Photos for Year 7
Tuesday 13th September – School finishes at 2:00 pm for Open evening
Tuesday 4th October – Tutor consultation evening
Friday 21st October – School ends at 3:00 pm for half term

Monday 31st October – Back to School & Tracking Week
Thursday 17th November – Consultation Day
Monday 28th November & Tuesday 29th November – Staff INSET – no school for students
Friday 16th December – School finishes at 12:30 pm for Christmas

Tuesday 3rd January – Back to school
Friday 10th February – School ends at 3:00 pm for half term

Monday 20th February – Back to School
Thursday 23rd February – Year 7 Subject Consultation Evening
Monday 6th March – Tracking Week
Thursday 23rd March – Consultation Day
Friday 7th April – School finishes at 3:00 pm for the Easter break

Monday 24th April – Back to School
Monday 1st May – Bank Holiday – no school
Friday 26th May – School ends at 3:00 pm for half term

Monday 5th June & Tuesday 6th June – Staff INSET – no school for students
Wednesday 7th June – Back to school for students
Week Commencing Monday 12th June – Exam week for Year 7
Thursday 20th July – School finishes at 12:30 pm for the summer holidays

Students of the Week

Each week a student from each tutor group will be nominated as ‘Student of the Week’.  They will receive an R4 if they are awarded the accolade of ‘Student of the Week’ .  The student who is chosen from the eight nominees will attend the Student of the Week lunch at the end of each term.  Names of students winning this award will be published in the Year 7 Newsletter.

Key Stage 3 Diploma

Students in year 8 will be working towards a Key Stage 3 Diploma.  This is a special award which I believe will be extremely useful to students when they are writing references and applications.  This award is purely based on student work rate and progress.  Obviously learning in the classroom is the most important part of school and that students should be recognised and rewarded when they make good progress.  The diploma is judged at 3 different levels: pass, merit and distinction.  A distinction shows that students are making very high levels of progress in comparison to their target level.

Year  7 Tutor Groups

Staff Name Tutor Group ID House Location
Miss M Robertson / Ms C Pushnik 7 XMR Moore D2.4
Mrs S Treanor 7 SH Berners-Lee B2.9
Miss P Hollitzer 8 PH Moore B2.4
Mr D Overend 8 DV Pascal D2.3
Miss A Lancaster 8 AL Pascal B2.7
Miss S Butterfield 8 SB Holmes D1.2
Miss E Davies 8 ED Holmes M2.1
Miss L Taylor 8 LT Berners-Lee B2.5

Year 7 Tutor Timetable

Day Main activity Other activity
Monday ‘Theme of the week’ discussion.

-Register and uniform check.

-Theme of the week discussion.

-Write HW into diaries.

Tuesday Rewards, Consequences and points information to students.

-Register and uniform check.

-Tutor rep and sport captains lead messages.

-Tutor checks diaries.

Wednesday Community and Cultural project led by Community Ambassadors.

– Register and uniform check in assembly hall.

 

Thursday Assembly

Register and uniform check.

-Letters given out.

-Tutor checks diaries.

Friday Student Voice feedback and discussion (from House meetings and Student Voice meetings).

-Register and uniform check.

-Tutor rep and sport captains lead messages.

-Equipment Check.