Year 8

Welcome to Year 8, from Mrs Griffin and myself. We wish you lots of luck for the forthcoming year.

Miss Carriero
Head of Year 8

Key Dates for Year 8

Friday 2nd September – School starts at 10:10am
Tuesday 13th September – School Photos for Year 8
Tuesday 13th September – School finishes at 2pm for Open evening
Friday 21st October – School ends at 3pm for half term

Monday 31st October – Back to School & Tracking Week
Thursday 17th November – Consultation Day
Monday 28th November & Tuesday 29th November – Staff INSET – no school for students
Friday 16th December – School finishes at 12:30pm for Christmas

Tuesday 3rd January – Back to school
Friday 10th February – School ends at 3pm for half term

Monday 20th February – Back to School
Monday 6th March – Tracking Week
Thursday 23rd March – Consultation Day
Friday 7th April – School finishes at 3pm for the Easter break

Monday 24th April – Back to School
Monday 1st May – Bank Holiday – no school
Wednesday 10th May – HPV injections
Friday 26th May – School ends at 3pm for half term

Monday 5th June & Tuesday 6th June – Staff INSET – no school for students.
Wednesday 7th June – Back to school for students
Week Commencing Monday 12th June – Exam week for Year 8
Wednesday 5th July – Subject Consultation Evening
Thursday 20th July – School finishes at 12:30pm for the summer holidays

Student Runners

During Year 8 students will have the opportunity to take part in this special initiative where two students a day assist staff with various activities and are based at pupil reception for the days.

Key Stage 3 Diploma

Students in year 8 will be working towards a Key Stage 3 Diploma.  This is a special award which I believe will be extremely useful to students when they are writing references and applications.  This award is purely based on student work rate and progress.  Obviously learning in the classroom is the most important part of school and that students should be recognised and rewarded when they make good progress.  The diploma is judged at 3 different levels: pass, merit and distinction.  A distinction shows that students are making very high levels of progress in comparison to their target level.

Year 8 Tutor Groups

Staff Name Tutor Group ID House Location
Ms Z Maniakova 8 ZM Berners Lee M2.2
Ms M Gosling/ Ms L Cardis 8 MG Berners Lee D2.10
Mr A Fraser 8 FR Pascal B2.13
Mrs N Woodward 8 NW Pascal M1.2
Miss J New 8 JN Moore D2.8
Miss R Pike 8 RP Holmes B1.8
Mr K Hothi 8 HT Moore M2.5
Mr A Buchalik 8 AB Holmes D1.7

Year 8 Tutor Timetable

Day Main activity Other activity
Monday ‘Theme of the week’ discussion.

-Register and uniform check.

-Theme of the week discussion.

-Write HW into diaries.

Tuesday Rewards, Consequences and points information to students.

-Register and uniform check.

-Tutor rep and sport captains lead messages.

-Tutor checks diaries.

Wednesday

Assembly

 

– Register and uniform check in assembly hall.

 

Thursday Community and Cultural project led by Community Ambassadors.

Register and uniform check.

-Letters given out.

-Tutor checks diaries.

Friday Student Voice feedback and discussion (from House meetings and Student Voice meetings).

-Register and uniform check.

-Tutor rep and sport captains lead messages.

-Equipment Check.