Here at The Park Academies Trust we use cookies to:
- improve our website performance;
- help you share our content across your social media networks; and
- personalise our advertisements to you.

To accept our cookies please click the button below, or for further details and the chance to specify your cookie preferences please click ‘more information’.

You can change your preferences at any time by visiting the "Cookies Preferences" page, which can be found via our footer. View our Cookie policy for full details.

Key Stage 4 Curriculum

At Lydiard Park Academy we have always felt the value in pupils taking a broad range of subjects which will give them lots of post-16 opportunities. In Key Stage 4, all pupils study English Language, English Literature, Mathematics, Combined or Separate Sciences to GCSE level. In addition, pupils choose three options from a wide range of both vocational and GCSE courses. Every pupil has to include one of the Humanities (History or Geography). All pupils are encouraged to select a creative or performing subject to support their mental health and well-being. All specifications now place less emphasis on coursework and more on final exams.

English Baccalaureate – the government wants more emphasis put on traditional, academic subjects and so it is expecting nearly all pupils to follow a set of courses that include studies in five main areas:

  • English (all pupils at Lydiard Park Academy will continue to take English Language and English Literature to GCSE level)
  • Mathematics (all pupils at Lydiard Park Academy will continue to take GCSE Mathematics)
  • Science (pupils at Lydiard Park Academy take a combined science qualification or the three separate sciences. In addition, Computer Science will count as a ‘science’)
  • History or Geography (all pupils at Lydiard Park Academy will have the choice of either subject)
  • Modern Foreign Language

Statutory Subjects - all pupils have two hours of Physical Education and dedicated sessions throughout each term of PSHE and Citizenship.

Attainment 8 – this measure has become increasingly important as it provides a single number to demonstrate the attainment of a child across a range of subject areas and will almost certainly be used by colleges, universities and employers when assessing the ability of applicants. The Attainment 8 score is calculated by averaging the number grade for English and Mathematics (given the importance of these subjects they will be double-counted) plus the number grade from three English Baccalaureate subjects and the number grades of three other qualifying subjects.

Progress 8 – this measure is used to judge the performance of schools. Each child will have an expected Attainment 8 score based on primary school KS2 levels and this will be compared with actual performance at the end of the five years of secondary education. Hence, a child expected to score an Attainment 8 score of 6.6 who in fact scores 6.9 will have a Progress 8 score of +0.3. All the Progress 8 scores in a school will be averaged to produce an overall score.